Tuesday, November 18, 2008

American Express Wal-Mart Promotion

American Express sent me an email to receive a $20 statement credit by using the card at Wal-Mart. This is for my Blue account, if you have one of these cards you probably also got the email, simply sign up and shop at Wal-Mart to save some money this holiday season. Details below:



This is funny since this comes from the company that uses data-mining software to analyze where you shop with your card and reduce your credit line based on statistical data. Wal-Mart was at the top of the list of retailers, basically if you shopped there in the past you were more likely to default on future payments.

Maybe they’re ready to make nice?

HS

8 comments:

Anonymous,  November 19, 2008 12:10 AM  

I got the email and wanted to enroll although I rarely shop at Wal Mart. But it's a good deal so I might use it. However, I can't figure out a way to sign up without clicking the link on the email. I never click on a link in an email where a credit card is involved for security purposes. Do you know another way to sign up? Thanks.

HS November 19, 2008 9:31 AM  

Hi Anonymous,

The email has the last 4 digits of my credit card, so it looks legit, you can also check the URL when you sign up.

I have not tried logging in to my account and looking for the link but I'm sure you could also find it that way.

Enjoy your $20!

HS

LeighAnn November 19, 2008 6:56 PM  

Are you sure it's legit?

And I am so stupid....I clicked on the wrong blog and told this girl she has pictures all over her blog and that how can she be shy and then I realized I commented to the wrong person!!

NOW YOU OWE ME A PICTURE!! :-)

Tom November 21, 2008 2:19 PM  

I was researching this deal and I was skeptical as well but this is what you look for when using your e-mail.

Open up the link -- It won't hurt you if you have a anti-virus system.

Look for the secure yellow lock in the tool bar up top.

If it lights up, it's legit. Plus as HS said, it will show the last 4 digits of your credit card number.

Great deal BTW

HS November 21, 2008 11:55 PM  

Something is strange about the promotion, I did a new post about it, check it out.

HS

Anonymous,  December 3, 2008 12:57 PM  

Be careful about the fraud.
I went to that site, they ask all the detail of Amex card information (including
secure code) . Very strange, I bookmarked that site then go back . The site change to link to real Amex site.

mortgage prepayment programs December 4, 2008 4:53 PM  

sounds pretty cool, ill have to make sure its legit so i dont get hosed again
-jack

Anonymous,  December 6, 2008 10:52 AM  

I called American Express, and they said they no nothing about this promotion. They requested I email or fax the email to them so they can check it out. Be careful.

About This Blog

This blog is about debt and how we handle our financial obligations. We are not financial professionals. The content on this site is for entertainment purposes only; it is not intended to be used as financial advice. The companies and trademarks mentioned on this site are companies that we use, this site is not intended to discredit or harm their reputation.

LEGAL

Our Debt Blog © 2008
ourdebtblog@gmail.com





SITE


Earn $$ with WidgetBucks!



  © Blogger template The Professional Template by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP